jueves, 8 de mayo de 2014

The Princess and the Pea

Here's a confession. From time to time I like reminiscing bedtime stories from my childhood. Or simply, more than liking it, I happen to go back fondly to them. Even more simply, they just pop into my head all of a sudden drawing a smile on my face.

Like now. I just went back many years ago to "The Princess and the Pea". But I can relate to numerous fairytales of the kind. For instance, "Hansel and Gretel", "Alice in Wonderland", "Thumbelina", etc. 

They all have a fantastic print to them obviously, and morals to learn from, but I never really quite saw too much of that in "The Princess and the Pea". I remember it as being an especially superficial kind of fairytale for there was no actual key message in it at all. If anything, it just showed that being a princess required being too delicate to notice a pea under 20 mattresses (duh!) and beautiful at all times, even if the rain and the wind got your hair all wet and messy out of the blue. 

Nevertheless, it stroke me as funny at the time and I look nostalgically back to it. I certainly learnt things like what a jester was, how ridiculously they would humiliate themselves for the nobility, how weirdly people dressed and styled their hair then, what being wealthy was about opposed to being a poor servant and how awkward princes could be. And most of all, how cool and hilarious was to see the princess suffering on top of 20 mattresses because of a pea. Yes, it made me laugh and feel empathy for her at the same time.




There's also this one story about a girl who was sort of a princess too, and she had to have her bed done really neatly, with no wrinkles at all. Otherwise, she wouldn't sleep well. What an obsessed bitch lol. I can't remember the title of that one.

Anyways, I think fairytales are so cool and every kid should have the chance to read them and be read to as they will settle a world of imagination and learnings that will certainly live on in their minds forever.

Which ones do you remember like this, if there are any? I'm sure there are! Please, share!






Can this be any more awesome?

I adore languages. I'm Spanish. I thought I just had this thing for the two languages I speak other than Spanish, which are English and French, but who am I kidding? I just love them all. 

I once came up with a post on how I've frequently experienced the feeling that sometimes I could be missing out on other ways of living by only speaking one language way more than others, which is obviously my native Spanish. Don't get me wrong. I love my language as well, a lot. It's just that I think we might feel or even live the same kind of stuff differently by speaking different languages - as redundant as this may sound - and thus possibly be missing out on other ways of living and experiencing.

I'm not sure if any of this makes sense to you, but the next vid I just came upon clearly shows what I'm trying to say. 




When someone is willing to learn that much of so many different languages it has definitely got to be beyond having the skills or the passion for learning them easily. I believe that if one person has the hankering of learning all this much it's truly due to the power of communication. 

In a way, I see it as sort of living various kinds of lives in one. It has got to be a very fulfilling, enriching and powerful feeling Knowing you can express yourself and be understood by so many people around the globe. And much more. Just amazing :)



By the way, I'm Des! Welcome to my new blog =)